NYRB News


A Traveller in Time

The New York Review Children’s Collection is pleased to present A Traveller in Time, a historical adventure story, by Alison Uttley. This new title, along with a selection of books by other British
writers of children’s literature, are available for a limited time at 30% off.

A Traveller in Time

By Alison Uttley
With chapter opening illustrations by Phyllis Bray

Penelope Taberner Cameron was a solitary and sickly girl, a reader and a dreamer. With a vivid imagination, she imagines what life would be like in other places and times. When her mother decides that it is time for Penelope to spend some time outside of London, she sends her daughter to visit relatives at Thackers, a family
farmhouse in the English countryside. Penelope soon discovers that Thackers is not just a quaint country home, but also a portal into the past.

I, Penelope Taberner Cameron, tell this story of happenings when I was a young girl. To this day every detail of my strange experience is as clear as light…

With these words, our guide and heroine begins her tale of how a simple trip to the country transported her back to Elizabethan times. At Thackers, Penelope finds herself slipping in and out of the sixteenth-century where, much to her surprise, she becomes part of a family that has embroiled itself in a plot to free their beloved Mary, Queen of Scots, from prison. Even with her twentieth-century knowledge, Penelope remains helpless to keep the family—and herself—safe from danger and finds she is living an adventure bigger than any she could have imagined. Aware of the tragedy that lies ahead for her Elizabethan family, Penelope must confront serious questions about freedom, honor, and history as Mary’s impending doom approaches.

Uttley captures the slow loveliness of farm and country life in both centuries, even in the midst of gripping, historical intrigue. Fans of L. M. Boston’s Green Knowe series and Madeleine L’Engle’s A
Wrinkle in Time
will enjoy reading Alison Uttley’s thrilling and
thoughtful novel.

cover
A Traveller in Time
By Alison Uttley

For ages 8-14
Retail: $17.95
Special Offer: $12.57 (30% off)
order now

A superb novel about a modern girl who finds herself in Renaissance England trying to save Mary, Queen of Scots.”
—Michael Dirda, The Washington Post

“A beautiful book…a form of enchanting ghost story, with the ghosts drawn in with the grace of a painter on a fan.”
—The Observer

More books by great English writers, for children ages 8-14, also at 30% off

coverThe House of Arden
By E. Nesbit

Will Edred, before he turns ten, find the treasure that will allow him to inherit the House of Arden?

I love E. Nesbit—I think she is great and I identify with the way that she writes. Her children are very real children and she was quite a groundbreaker in her day.”
—J. K. Rowling

Retail: $17.95
Special Offer: $12.57 (30% off)
order now

coverCharlotte Sometimes
By Penelope Farmer

A time-travel story that is both a poignant exploration of human identity and an absorbing tale of suspense.

…on almost every page, scattered with colorful figures of speech, we are drawn into the school and the surroundings of the school through sights and sounds and smells and textures…above all we are moved by the depth and poignancy of the relationship between Charlotte and Emily.”
— Eleanor Cameron

Retail: $17.95
Special Offer: $12.57 (30% off)
order now

coverMistress Masham’s Repose
By T.H. White
Illustrated by Fritz Eichenberg

A ten-year old girl stumbles upon the long-lost kingdom of Lilliput, the people first seen in Gulliver’s Travels.

One of the finest, most magical and extraordinary children’s books ever written.”
—Anne Fine, Children’s Laureate of Britain

Retail: $17.95
Special Offer: $12.57 (30% off)
order now

coverThe Little Bookroom
By Eleanor Farjeon
Afterword by Rumer Godden
Illustrated by Edward Ardizzone

A selection of treasures from Eleanor Farjeon’s full store of writing for children. Including some stories which have not appeared before in book form. They make a rich combination: gems for storytelling and reading aloud, for children’s own reading, and a few that may be appreciated most fully by adults.
The Horn Book

Retail: $19.95
Special Offer: $13.97 (30% off)
order now

photo

The New York Review Children’s Collection 50

The first fifty titles of The New York Review Children’s Collection are now available at 50% off. The regular retail price for all fifty books is $851.50. Our special price is $425.75.
order now