Elizabeth Taylor

Elizabeth Taylor (1912–1975) was an English short-story writer and novelist. Her first novel, At Mrs. Lippincote’s, was published in 1945. She would go on to publish eleven more novels, including Angel and A Game of Hide and Seek (both available from NYRB Classics), four collections of short stories (many of which originally appeared in The New Yorker, Harper’s, and other magazines), and a children’s book, Mossy Trotter.

  • book image

    You’ll Enjoy It When You Get There

    An original selection of stories, many of which were first published in the New Yorker. “There is a deceptive smoothness in her tone … as in that of Evelyn Waugh … for in the work of both writers the funny and the appalling lie side by side in close amity.”—Kingsley Amis

  • book image


    Liar, fantasist, monster, writer: Taylor’s title character, who rises from working-class girl to wildly famous sentimental novelist, is all of these things. She is also Taylor’s greatest creation, a character who is terrible, poignantly sympathetic, and unforgettable.

  • book image

    A Game of Hide and Seek

    Harriet comes of age between the wars. She’s not especially charming or attractive, but she has one passion in her life: Vesey. Nothing, not marriage to another man, or motherhood, will change that. “Taylor is finally being recognised as an important British author: an author of great subtlety, great compassion and great depth.”—Sarah Waters

  • Elizabeth Taylor Collection

    Two books by Elizabeth Taylor: A Game of Hide and Seek and Angel at a special discount.