Ralph Manheim

Ralph Manheim (1907-1992) translated more than one hundred books, primarily from German and French. His first major commision was Mein Kampf, which was published in the United States in 1943. Among his prizewinning translations are The Tin Drum by Günter Grass, Castle to Castle by Louis-Ferdinand Céline, and A Sorrow Beyond Dreams by Peter Handke. After his death, the PEN/Ralph Manheim Medal for lifetime acheivement in translation—which he won in 1988—was renamed in his memory.

  • book image

    Soul of Wood

    Lind’s stories of the Second World War and its repercussions deal masterfully with a world of horror through fantasy, paradox, and sardonic distortion and bring to life the agonies of twentieth-century Europe. “It is amazing that he is witty; it is not at all surprising that he is profound.” —The New York Times

  • book image

    Short Letter, Long Farewell

    American myth and American reality come to a head in Handke’s spare and dreamlike 1972 novel, in which a young Austrian alternately pursues and flees his ex-wife, culminating in a Hollywood ending.

  • book image

    Slow Homecoming

    A trilogy in which Handke, putting aside the nerve-racked style of his early work for a new simplicity, meditates on exile, art, and the nature of the bonds between parent and child.