New York Review Books


  • Mud Pies and Other Recipes

    October 25, 2010

    I was a child backyard cook. I made salads of dandelion heads or clover leaves and even baked up a mud pie or two. But truth be told, I wasn't very inventive. Like an overworked parent serving macaroni and cheese night after night, I tended to fall back on a few favorite dishes that required little thought. Is it any wonder that my dolls, and eventually even the tiniest neighborhood ants, turned down my invitations to dine?

  • NYRB will be at The Brooklyn Book Festival

    September 8, 2010

    Be sure to stop by the NYRB booth at the Brooklyn Book Festival—a wide selection of NYRB Classics and Little Bookroom titles will be on sale at discounted prices. Plus, Karen Seiger will sign copies of her new book, Markets of New York City: A Guide to the Best Artisan, Farmer, Food and Flea Markets, from 1–3PM at the booth.

  • A Labor Day Trip with Georges Simenon

    August 31, 2010
    New York Review Books would like to wish you a Labor Day unlike Steve Hogan's.

    The protagonist of Georges Simenon's dark psychological thriller Red Lights, Steve is one of the millions of Americans hitting the highway on the Friday before Labor Day weekend. He and his wife, Nancy, are traveling from New York City to Maine, where their children are at summer camp. But somewhere in the midst of the thick traffic and heavy drinking of the trip, Steve "goes into the tunnel": a mental fugue characterized by pathological uncertainty, dangerous strangers, and the uncanny.
  • My Dog Tulip

    August 24, 2010

    My Dog Tulip, J.R. Ackerley's wickedly hilarious ode to his beloved (and uncouth) German Shepherd, was the first title to be published in the NYRB Classics series. Now, eleven years later, we are delighted to announce the release of a new animated feature film based on Ackerley's memoir.

  • The Jokers

    August 16, 2010
    "The day promised to be exceptionally torrid."

    So Albert Cossery begins his novel, The Jokers, a tale that, from its opening sentence, is packed with charged wit and barbed satire. The Jokers, an NYRB Classics Original appearing in its first English translation, has been making headlines since its July publication.
  • Jean Stafford's The Mountain Lion

    August 10, 2010
    We are thrilled to announce that Jean Stafford's The Mountain Lion is now on sale. Stafford, a writer perhaps best known for her marriages to Robert Lowell, Oliver Jensen, and A.J. Liebling, was the heralded author of three novels and many short stories. The Mountain Lion, her second novel, is a devastating, unconventional coming-of-age story.
  • A Letter from the Editor

    August 3, 2010

    "The month of January. Night time. North wind blowing. The fire in the hearth was going out." This is where Alexandros Papadiamantis's The Murderess begins—in cramped, dark quarters on a dirtpoor island in the Aegean Sea. A man snores, a sleepless woman tosses and turns, a baby coughs and cries. It is a hundred years ago, but it could be anytime, and it goes on. Hadoula, a woman of sixty or so, an old witch her neighbors say, is trying to rock the baby, her granddaughter, to sleep, even as she gives way to "bitter wandering thoughts." All her life Hadoula has shown herself to be a clever, industrious, tough woman, and yet now it strikes her:

  • Translation Prize Finalist

    July 27, 2010
    We are excited to announce that Richard Howard’s translation of Alien Hearts, Guy de Maupassant’s sixth and last novel, is a finalist for the French-American Foundation and the Florence Gould Foundation’s Translation Prize.
  • Celebrate Belgium's Independence Day with Georges Simenon

    July 21, 2010
    Today marks the anniversary of Belgium’s independence from the Netherlands and, in 1831, the coronation of the first king of Belgium. So, it is particularly fitting that Georges Simenon’s Pedigree, the magnum opus of Belgian writing, is released this week. An epic merger of fiction and autobiography, Pedigree has been heralded by Luc Sante as “quite possibly the greatest single work of Belgian literature.”
  • The Long Ships

    July 13, 2010
    We are delighted to announce that, though published just this month, Frans G. Bengtsson’s The Long Ships has already received two reviews. The San Francisco Chronicle and NPR.org both herald Bengtsson’s novel as a thrilling, intrigue-filled read perfect for the summer.
  • Tove Jansson's "The True Deceiver"

    July 1, 2010
    We are excited to announce that Tove Jansson’s The True Deceiver received June reviews in both The Nation and The Believer.

    A story of manipulation and deceit set in the depths of the Swedish winter, The True Deceiver is unlike anything else Tove Jansson wrote. "I loved this book. It's cool in both senses of the word, understated yet exciting, and with a tension that keeps you reading." —Ruth Rendell
  • "Three Ladies Beside the Sea" by Rhoda Levine, with drawings by Edward Gorey

    June 25, 2010
    We are pleased to announce the newest title in The New York Review Children's Collection, a lost classic that will appeal to both children and adults: Three Ladies Beside the Sea by Rhoda Levine, with color drawings by the inimitable Edward Gorey. For a limited time, we are pleased to offer Three Ladies Beside the Sea, along with a few other favorite picture books, at 30% off the cover price.
  • The Lonely Passion of Judith Hearne

    June 18, 2010
    We are especially pleased to announce the publication of The Lonely Passion of Judith Hearne, selected by The Guardian as one of 1,000 novels you must read before you die. Take advantage of a limited 25% discount on this most recent NYRB Classic, and discover the elegant craft of Brian Moore's debut novel that launched his distinguished literary career.
  • J. G. Farrell's "Troubles" tops Man Booker Prize poll as best novel of 1970

    May 20, 2010
    Forty years after it was first published, Troubles, by J G Farrell, was announced, on May 19, 2010, as the winner of the Lost Man Booker Prize — a one-off prize to honour the books published in 1970, but not considered for the prize when its rules were changed.
  • Children's Book Week, May 10-16

    May 11, 2010
    Children's Book Week
    The New York Review Children's Collection wholeheartedly endorses the Children's Book Week, and encourages you to visit your local bookstore or the CBC website to find out about more events in your neighborhood.
  • Talk to Me

    May 4, 2010
    Last Thursday, NYRB Classics presented an evening of New York Stories, past and present, at The Morgan Library & Museum in New York City for the 2010 PEN World Voices Festival. There, a remarkable panel of Quim Monzó, Darryl Pinckney, Roxana Robinson, and Colm Tóibín tackled the complex relationships that Henry James, Edith Wharton, and Elizabeth Hardwick had with New York City.

    For those unable to attend the panel, we are pleased to provide this link to the complete audio of the program.
  • William Lindsay Gresham's "Nightmare Alley"

    April 27, 2010
    Born in Baltimore and raised in Brooklyn, William Lindsay Gresham was fascinated by the Coney Island sideshows. Developing an unerring eye for the scene's details, he deserves to be remembered as one of America's best chroniclers of the underground. Now available from NYRB Classics, at a limited time 30% discount, his Nightmare Alley is an indelible noir classic on the varieties of deception and the dream of redemption.
  • Celebrate the 40th anniversary of Earth Day with NYRB

    April 22, 2010
    "The One-Straw Revolution is one of the founding documents of the alternative food movement, and indispensable to anyone hoping to understand the future of food and agriculture." —Michael Pollan
  • NYRB Classics a proud sponsor of PEN's annual World Voices Festival

    April 20, 2010

    NYRB Classics is once again a proud sponsor of PEN’s annual World Voices Festival—which aims to foster international understanding by bringing international and American authors together in conversation. This year NYRB Classics and PEN World Voices Festival present an evening of New York Stories, past and present, at The Morgan Library & Museum in New York City at 7:00pm on Thursday, April 29th.

  • Welcome

    April 11, 2010

    Things look a bit out of the ordinary here at NYRB, and we couldn’t be happier.

    Welcome to our new homepage. Along with The New York Review of Books, we’ve completely redesigned our website to help highlight everything new that we’re doing with our books. Here you’ll find podcasts, reading group discussions, NYRB events, videos as well as giveaways, NYRB in the News, social networking, and so much more. It’s a space where we’d like to cultivate a community of readers, as diverse as our catalog.

  • Celebrities: They're just like us.

    April 11, 2010
    There are more than a few famous fans who have confessed their admiration of NYRB, and the latest to fall for a Classic was actor Tom Hanks. In the March 15th issue of Time magazine, Hanks named John William’s Stoner one of his “Top Five Page Turners,” describing it as “simply a novel about a guy who goes to college and becomes a teacher. But it’s one of the most fascinating things that you’ve ever come across.”
  • NYRB Celebrates National Poetry Month

    April 11, 2010

    The Academy of American Poets declared April as Poetry Month in 1996, and we’ve been doing our part to enrich the range of poetry available to the reading public. From award-winning new translations of century-old classics to celebrated anthologies, NYRB has a diverse assortment of verse for you to celebrate the month. And don’t forget: the month long celebration culminates on April 29th with “Poem in Your Pocket Day,” where everyone is encouraged to carry a poem around and share it with friends.

    And as a tribute to the month, a poem:

  • A Classic book for Adults and Children singled out on NPR's Weekend Edition

    April 11, 2010
    Recently Scott Simon and Daniel Pinkwater made a giant step into making the genius of Frank Tashlin more recognizable by featuring the newly released The Bear That Wasn’t on NPR’s Weekend Edition. Laughing between reading aloud about fumbling factory workers, fake fur coats, and a bear declaring his bearness, Scott Simon praised the story with it’s “wonderful pictures and even some political satire to appeal to adults who read it as well.” Daniel Pinkwater goes on to name it “a classic. And the proof of that is that it is now coming out…from the wonderful and magnificent New York Review Children’s Collection.”