Mirror, Mirror

King, Queen, Knave by Vladimir Nabokov

Nabokov: The Man and His Work edited by L.S. Dembo

Keys to Lolita by Carl R. Proffer

Far-Away Countries

Diplomat in Berlin 1933-39: Papers and Memoirs of Józef Lipski, Ambassador of Poland edited by Waclaw Jedrzewicz

Stalin, Hitler, and Europe 1933-39 Volume I, The Origins of World War II by James E. McSherry

The Last Whig

The Crisis of the Seventeenth Century: Religion, the Reformation and Social Change by H.R. Trevor-Roper

Reviving Spenser

Spenser’s World of Glass by Kathleen Williams

Spenser’s Images of Life by C.S. Lewis, edited by Alastair Fowler

The Poetry of “The Faerie Queene” by Paul J. Alpers

Allegorical Imagery by Rosemond Tuve

Spenser’s Image of Nature: Wild Man and Shepherd in “The Faerie Queene” by Donald Cheney


Jason Epstein, former Editorial Director at Random House, was a founder of The New York Review and of the Library of America. He is the author of Eating: A Memoir. (Dectember 2013)

William H. Gass (b. 1924) is an essayist, novelist, and literary critic. He grew up in Ohio and is a former professor of philosophy at Washington University. Among his books are six works of fiction and nine books of essays, including Tests of Time (2002), A Temple of Texts (2006), and Life Sentences (2012). New York Review Books will republish his story collection In the Heart of the Heart of the Country (1968) in 2014. Gass lives with his wife, the architect Mary Gass, in St. Louis.

Mary McCarthy (1912-1989) was a novelist, essayist, and critic. Her political and social commentary, literary essays, and drama criticism appeared in magazines such as Partisan Review, The New Yorker, Harper’s, and The New York Review of Books, and were collected in On the Contrary (1961), Mary McCarthy’s Theatre Chronicles 1937-1962 (1963), The Writing on the Wall (1970), Ideas and the Novel (1980), and Occasional Prose (1985). Her novels include The Company She Keeps (1942), The Oasis (1949), The Groves of Academe (1952), A Charmed Life (1955), The Group (1963), Birds of America (1971), and Cannibals and Missionaries (1979). She was the author of three works of autobiography, Memories of a Catholic Girlhood (1957), How I Grew (1987), and the unfinished Intellectual Memoirs (1992), and two travel books about Italy, Venice Observed (1956) and The Stones of Florence (1959). Her essays on the Vietnam War were collected in The Seventeenth Degree (1974); her essays on Watergate were collected in The Mask of State (1974).

A.J.P. Taylor (1906–1990) was a British diplomatic historian.