From Jamestown to San Clemente

The Americans: The Colonial Experience by Daniel J. Boorstin

The Americans: The National Experience by Daniel J. Boorstin

The Americans: The Democratic Experience by Daniel J. Boorstin

Democracy and Its Discontents: Reflections on Everyday America by Daniel J. Boorstin

In Eliot’s Cave

Golden Codgers by Richard Ellmann

Eliot in His Time edited by A. Walton Litz

Eliot in Perspective edited by Graham Martin

The Political Identities of Ezra Pound and T.S. Eliot by William M. Chace

Great Tom: Notes Towards the Definition of T.S. Eliot by T.S. Matthews

A Curious Politician

Forest Hills Diary: The Crisis of Low-Income Housing by Mario Matthew Cuomo, with a preface by Jimmy Breslin, an afterword by Richard Sennett


John Bayley is a critic and novelist. His books include Elegy for Iris and The Power of Delight: A Lifetime in Literature.

Joseph Brodsky (1940–1996) was a Russian poet and essayist. Born in Leningrad, Brodsky moved to the United States when he was exiled from Russia in 1972. His poetry collections include A Part of Speech andTo Urania; his essay collections include Less Than One, which won the National Book Critics Circle Award, and Watermark. In 1987, he was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature. He served as US Poet Laureate from 1991 to 1992.

Thomas Haskell is the McCann Professor of History at Rice University and the author of Objectivity is Not Neutrality: Explanatory Schemes in History. (December 1997)

Murray Kempton (1917-1997) was a columnist for Newsday, as well as a regular contributor to The New York Review of Books. His books include Rebellions, Perversities, and Main Events and The Briar Patch, as well as Part of Our Time. He won the Pulitzer Prize in 1985.

V. S. Naipaul was born in Trinidad in 1932 and emigrated to England in 1950, when he won a scholarship to University College, Oxford. He is the author of many novels, including A House for Mr. Biswas, A Bend in the River, and In a Free State, which won the Booker Prize. He has also written several nonfiction works based on his travels, including India: A Million Mutinies Now and Beyond Belief: Islamic Excursions Among the Converted Peoples. He was knighted in 1990 and in 1993 was the first recipient of the David Cohen British Literature Prize.