A Poet’s Tragedy

The Demesne of the Swans by Marina Tsvetaeva, translated and edited by Robin Kemball

Tsvetaeva: A Pictorial Biography edited by Ellendea Proffer, translated by J. Marin King

A Captive Spirit: Selected Prose by Marina Tsvetaeva, translated and edited by J. Marin King

Is the Party Over?

Friendly Fascism: The New Face of Power in America by Bertram Gross

Crisis Investing: Opportunities and Profits in the Coming Great Depression by Douglas R. Casey

The Great Mystifier

The Harmonious Circle: The Lives and Work of G.I. Gurdjieff, P.D. Ouspensky, and Their Followers by James Webb

Gurdjieff and Mansfield by James Moore

Who Are You, Monsieur Gurdjieff? by René Zuber

The Middle Eastern Muddle

Ropes of Sand: America’s Failure in the Middle East by Wilbur Crane Eveland

Arabia, the Gulf and the West: A Critical View of the Arabs and Their Oil Policy by J.B. Kelly

Chomsky and His Critics

Rules and Representations by Noam Chomsky

Language and Learning: The Debate between Jean Piaget and Noam Chomsky edited by Massimo Piattelli-Palmarini


Ian Hacking teaches philosophy at the University of Toronto. From 2000 to 2006 Hacking held the chair of Philosophy and History of Scientific Concepts at the Collège de France. His most recent book is Historical Ontology.

David Joravsky is Professor Emeritus of History at Northwestern. His books include The Lysenko Affairand Russian Psychology: A Critical History.

Joseph Kerman is emeritus professor of music at the University of California, Berkeley. He began writing music criticism for The Hudson Review in the 1950s, and is a longtime contributor to The New York Review of Books and many other journals. His books include Opera as Drama (1956; new and revised edition 1988), The Beethoven Quartets (1967), Contemplating Music (1986), Concerto Conversations (1999), and The Art of Fugue (2005).

P.D. Medawar (1915–1987) was a British biologist whose research was fundamental to the development of tissue and organ transplants. Along with Frank Macfarlane Burnet, he was awarded the 1960 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine.

Czeslaw Milosz (1911–2004) was born in Szetejnie, Lithuania. Over the course of his long and prolific career he published works in many genres, including criticism (The Captive Mind), fiction (The Issa Valley), memoir (Native Realm), and poetry (New and Collected Poems, 1931-2001). He was a member of the American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters and was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1980.

John Thompson is an English sociologist. He has published several studies of the media and communication in modern societies, including The Media and Modernity: A Social Theory of the Mediaand Political Scandal: Power and Visibility in the Media Age.