The Return of LBJ

Lone Star Rising: Lyndon Johnson and His Times, 1908–1960 by Robert Dallek

The Triumph & Tragedy of Lyndon Johnson: The White House Years by Joseph A. Califano Jr.

The Empire of Joseph Roth

The Radetzky March by Joseph Roth, translated by Eva Tucker, translated by Geoffrey Dunlop

Hotel Savoy, including ‘Fallmerayer the Stationmaster’ and ‘The Bust of the Emperor’ by Joseph Roth, translated by John Hoare

The Spider’s Web’ and ‘Zipper and his Father’ by Joseph Roth, translated by John Hoare

The Emperor’s Tomb by Joseph Roth, translated by John Hoare

Flight Without End by Joseph Roth, translated by David LeVay

The Silent Prophet by Joseph Roth, translated by David Le Vay

The Legend of the Holy Drinker’ and ‘Right and Left’ by Joseph Roth, translated by Michael Hofmann

Sex and the Devil

South: A Play by Julian Green

The Distant Lands by Julian Green, translated by Barbara Beaumont

Paris by Julian Green, translated by J. A. Underwood

Adrienne Mesurat by Julian Green, translated by Henry Longan Stuart, revised by Marilyn Gaddis Rose


Bernard Lewis is Cleveland E. Dodge Professor of Near Eastern Studies Emeritus at Princeton. His most recent books are Music of a Distant Drum and What Went Wrong: Western Impact and Middle Eastern Response. (May 2002)

James Merrill (1926–1995) was an American poet whose major work The Changing Light at Sandover describes a series of spirit communications conducted over many years. He won the National Book Award from his collections Nights and Days and Mirabell: Books of Number.

Wilfrid Sheed (1915–2011) was a British-American novelist and critic.

Robert M. Solow, Institute Professor Emeritus of Economics at MIT, won the 1987 Nobel Prize in economics. His most recent book is Work and Welfare. (May 2009)

John Weightman (1915–2004) was a critic and literary scholar. After working as a translator and announcer for the BBC French service, Weightman turned to the study of French literature. He taught at King’s College London and the University of London. His books include The Concept of the Avant-Gardeand The Cat Sat on the Mat: Language and the Absurd.

Paul Wilson is a writer based in Toronto. He has translated major works by Josef Škvorecký, Ivan Klíma, Bohumil Hrabal, and Václav Havel. His translation of a collection of Hrabal’s early stories will be published in October as Mr. Kafka and Other Tales from the Time of the Cult. (April 2015)

C. Vann Woodward (1908–1999) was a historian of the American South. He taught at Johns Hopkins and at Yale, where he was named the Sterling Professor of History. His books include Mary Chesnut’s Civil War and The Old World’s New World.