The Return of LBJ

Lone Star Rising: Lyndon Johnson and His Times, 1908–1960 by Robert Dallek

The Triumph & Tragedy of Lyndon Johnson: The White House Years by Joseph A. Califano Jr.

The Empire of Joseph Roth

The Radetzky March by Joseph Roth, translated by Eva Tucker, translated by Geoffrey Dunlop

Hotel Savoy, including ‘Fallmerayer the Stationmaster’ and ‘The Bust of the Emperor’ by Joseph Roth, translated by John Hoare

The Spider’s Web’ and ‘Zipper and his Father’ by Joseph Roth, translated by John Hoare

The Emperor’s Tomb by Joseph Roth, translated by John Hoare

Flight Without End by Joseph Roth, translated by David LeVay

The Silent Prophet by Joseph Roth, translated by David Le Vay

The Legend of the Holy Drinker’ and ‘Right and Left’ by Joseph Roth, translated by Michael Hofmann

Sex and the Devil

South: A Play by Julian Green

The Distant Lands by Julian Green, translated by Barbara Beaumont

Paris by Julian Green, translated by J. A. Underwood

Adrienne Mesurat by Julian Green, translated by Henry Longan Stuart, revised by Marilyn Gaddis Rose


Gabriele Annan is a book and film critic living in London. (March 2006)

John Bayley is a critic and novelist. His books include Elegy for Iris and The Power of Delight: A Lifetime in Literature.

Ian Buruma is the author of The Missionary and the Libertine: Love and War in East and West (1996), Murder in Amsterdam: The Death of Theo Van Gogh and the Limits of Tolerance (2006), Year Zero: A History of 1945 (2013), and Theater of Cruelty: Art, Film, and the Shadows of War (2014), winner of the PEN/Diamonstein-Spielvogel Award for the Art of the Essay. He is the Paul W. Williams Professor of Human Rights and Journalism at Bard and a regular contributor to The New York Review of Books, The New Yorker, and The New York Times, among other publications. His new book, Their ­Promised Land: My Grandparents in Love and War, will be published in January 2016.

Nadine Gordimer was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1991. Her latest novel, No Time Like the Present, was published in March.
 (May 2012)

Václav Havel (1936–2011) was the last president of Czechoslovakia and the first president of the Czech Republic. Havel was one of the six signers of the statement “Tibet: The Peace of the Graveyard.”

Patrice Higonnet teaches French history at Harvard. His latest book is Goodness Beyond Virtue: Jacobins During the French Revolution. (July 2001)

Derek Jarrett is Editor of the Yale edition of Horace Walpole’s Memoirs. His edition of The Memoirs of the Reign of George III will be published later this year. (March 1999)