The Ache in Eakins

Thomas Eakins:The Rowing Pictures 23-September 29, 1996; The Yale University Art Gallery, October 11, 1996-January 14, 1997; The Cleveland Museum of Art, February 15-May 15, 1997. exhibition at the National Gallery, Washington, D. C., June, Catalog of the exhibition by Helen A. Cooper, with contributions by Martin A. Berger and Christina Currie and Amy B. Werbel

The Best of Both Worlds

Pisanello the Museo di Castelvecchio, Verona, September 7
December 9, 1996
an exhibition at the Louvre, Paris, May 6
August 5, 1996, and at

Pisanello: le peintre aux sept vertus catalog of the exhibition, edited by Dominique Cordellier

Sex, Death, and the Courts

Compassion in Dying v. State of Washington, 79 F. 3d 790, United States Court of Appeals, Ninth Circuit (1996)

Quill v. Vacco, 80 F. 3d 716, United States Court of Appeals, Second Circuit (1996)

Romer v. Evans, 116 S. Ct. 1620, United States Supreme Court (1996)


David Lodge is a novelist and critic and Emeritus Professor of English Literature at the University of Birmingham, England. His novels include Changing Places, Small World, Nice Work, and A Man of Parts. His most recent works of criticism are Consciousness and the Novel and The Year of Henry James.

Jack F. Matlock Jr. was US Ambassador to the Soviet Union between 1987 and 1991 and is the author of Autopsy on an Empire. He is George F. Kennan Professor at the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton. (February 2000)

John Updike (1932–2009) was born in Shillington, Pennsylvania. In 1954 he began to publish in The New Yorker, where he continued to contribute short stories, poems, and criticism until his death. His major work was the set of four novels chronicling the life of Harry “Rabbit: Angstrom, he two of which, Rabbit is Richand Rabbit at Rest, won the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction. His last books were the novel The Widows of Eastwick and Due Considerations, a collection of his essays and criticism.

Derek Walcott is a poet, playwright, essayist, and visual artist. Born in Castries, St. Lucia, he won the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1992. His epic poem Omerosis a reworking of the Homeric story and tradition into a journey around the Caribbean and beyond to the American West and London.

Steven Weinberg teaches at the University of Texas at Austin. He has been awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics and the National Medal of Science. His latest book is To Explain the World: The Discovery of Modern Science.

Gordon Wood is the Alva O. Way University Professor and Professor of History Emeritus at Brown. In honor of the 250th ­anniversary of the Stamp Act, his two edited volumes of The American Revolution: Writings from the Pamphlet Debate, 1764–1776 will be published this summer, 2015.

Warren Zimmermann, a professor of international diplomacy at Columbia University, was US Ambassador to Yugoslavia from 1989 to 1992. A revised edition of his book, Origins of a Catastrophe:Yugoslavia and Its Destroyers, has just been published in paperback. (June 1999)