To the Editors:

Your readers may be interested to know that the first Jonathan Lieberson Memorial Prize in Philosophy has been awarded to Jeffrey C. Cohen for his essay, “Transcending Sectarianism: Rawlsian Liberalism as Higher Order Theory.” Honorable Mention was given to James Lewis for his essay “The ‘I’ of the Philosophers.” The award of $1,000 is given by the Columbia University Department of Philosophy for an essay by a graduate student in philosophy at Columbia “showing the applicability of moral or scientific theory or both to a social or historical issue.” The award was donated by friends of the late Jonathan Lieberson, who was the contributing editor of The New York Review and the author of Varieties.

Charles Larmore
Isaac Levi
Sidney Morgenbesser
New York City

This Issue

January 31, 1991