Leading with the Grumper

Historical Dictionary of American Slang (Volume I, A-G)

edited by J.E. Lighter

The Real Thing

I Tell My Heart: The Art of Horace Pippin January-April 1994; Art Institute of Chicago, April-July 1994; Cincinnati Art Museum, July 28-October 9, 1994; Baltimore Museum of Art, October 26-December 31, 1994; Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, February

exhibition at the Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts,

I Tell My Heart: The Art of Horace Pippin

catalog edited by Judith E. Stein

Jacob Lawrence, The Migration Series Birmingham Museum, July 10-September 4, 1994; St. Louis Art Museum, September 30-November 27, 1994; Museum of Modern Art, New York, January 12-April 11, 1995; High Museum of Art, Atlanta, Georgia, April 25-June 25, 199

exhibition at the Phillips Collection, September 1993-January 1994;

Jacob Lawrence, The Migration Series

catalog edited by Elizabeth Hutton Turner

Harriet and the Promised Land

by Jacob Lawrence

Jacob Lawrence: Thirty Years of Prints (1963-1993), A Catalogue Raisonné Washington

catalog of the exhibition at Francine Seders Gallery, Seattle,, essay by Patricia Hills, edited by Peter Nesbett

A History of African-American Artists From 1792 to the Present

by Romare Bearden and Harry Henderson

The Emergence of the African-American Artist: Robert S. Duncanson, 1821-1872

by Joseph D. Ketner

See all reviewed works
See less

The War Over the Scrolls

A Facsimile Edition of the Dead Sea Scrolls James M. Robinson

prepared with an introduction and index by Robert H. Eisenman and

The Dead Sea Scrolls Uncovered: The First Complete Translation and Interpretation of 50 Key Documents Withheld for Over 35 Years

by Robert H. Eisenman and Michael Wise

The Dead Sea Scrolls Deception

by Michael Baigent and Richard Leigh

Jesus & the Riddle of the Dead Sea Scrolls: Unlocking the Secrets of His Life Story

by Barbara Thiering

Understanding the Dead Sea Scrolls: A Reader from the 'Biblical Archaeology Review'

edited by Hershel Shanks

Responses to 101 Questions on the Dead Sea Scrolls

by Joseph A. Fitzmyer S.J.

See all reviewed works
See less

Great Scott?

Scott Fitzgerald: A Biography

by Jeffrey Meyers

F. Scott Fitzgerald: A Life in Letters

edited by Matthew J. Bruccoli

Mr. Liberty

Learned Hand: The Man and the Judge

by Gerald Gunther

New Wives’ Tales

The Collected Stories

by Grace Paley

Revenge in the Indies

The Hidden Force

by Louis Couperus, translated by Alexander Teixera de Mattos

‘Where Late the Sweet Birds Sang’

Birds in Literature

by Leonard Lutwack

Prisoners of the Ayatollah

From Palace to Prison: Inside the Iranian Revolution

by Ehsan Naraghi, translated by Nilon Mobasser

Death Plus Ten Years

by Roger Cooper

The Genius of Blues

Nothing But the Blues: The Music and the Musicians

edited by Lawrence Cohn

The Land Where the Blues Began

by Alan Lomax

King of the Delta Blues: The Life and Music of Charlie Patton

by Stephen Calt and Gayle Wardlow

Searching for Robert Johnson

by Peter Guralnick

Love in Vain:A Vision of Robert Johnson

by Alan Greenberg

Subscribe and save 50%!

Read the latest issue as soon as it’s available, and browse our rich archives. You'll have immediate subscriber-only access to over 1,200 issues and 25,000 articles published since 1963.

Subscribe now

Subscribe and save 50%!

Get immediate access to the current issue and over 25,000 articles from the archives, plus the NYR App.

Already a subscriber? Sign in