The Senator Giovanni Agnelli International Prize

“On March 5, 1990, in Turin, the second Senator Giovanni Agnelli International Prize for the Ethical Dimension in Advanced Societies was awarded to Amartya Sen. The prize was awarded for the first time in 1988 to Sir Isaiah Berlin.

“The winner was chosen by a jury, nominated and presided over by the chairman of Fiat, Giovanni Agnelli, and made up of Helmut Schmidt, Giovanni Spadolini, Roger Fauroux, and Felix Rohatyn, on the basis of a list of candidates proposed by the general secretariat of the prize, which is administered by the Giovanni Agnelli Foundation.

“The aim of this biennial prize, established by the Fiat company, is to draw attention to the need for reflection on the role of ethical principles in modern society. Economic, scientific, and technological progress has been accompanied by a growing uncertainty about the moral and cultural values that are fundamental to modern society. The prize, by recognizing outstanding contributions to our understanding of the ethical dimension in modern society, seeks to strengthen public thought and action concerning the ethical problems that confront us.”

From a statement by the Giovanni Agnelli Foundation

This article is available to online subscribers only.
Please choose from one of the options below to access this article:

Print Premium Subscription — $99.95

Purchase a print premium subscription (20 issues per year) and also receive online access to all content on

Online Subscription — $69.00

Purchase an Online Edition subscription and receive full access to all articles published by the Review since 1963.

One-Week Access — $4.99

Purchase a trial Online Edition subscription and receive unlimited access for one week to all the content on

If you already have one of these subscriptions, please be sure you are logged in to your account. If you subscribe to the print edition, you may also need to link your web site account to your print subscription. Click here to link your account services.