The Charms of Terror

The Inner Circle a film by Andrei Konchalovsky

The Inner Circle: An Inside View of Soviet Life Under Stalin by Andrei Konchalovsky and Alexander Lipkov, translated and edited by Jamey Gambrell

Only Collect

Le Géant, La Licorne et La Tulipe: Collections françaises au XVII siècle by Antoine Schnapper

Les Frères Goncourt: collectionneurs de dessins by Elizabeth Launay

J.P. Morgan: The Financier as Collector by Louis Auchincloss

Collectors and Curiosities: Paris and Venice, 1500–1800 by Krzysztof Pomian

Pricing the Priceless: Art, Artists, and Collectors by William D. Grampp

The Return of Cultural Treasures by Jeanette Greenfield

The Ethics of Collecting Cultural Property: Whose Culture? Whose Property? edited by Phyllis Mauch Messenger

Royal Family Thais

Four Reigns by Kukrit Pramoj, translated by Tulachandra

Kukrit Pramoj: His Wit and Wisdom edited by Steve Van Beek

A Child of the Northeast by Kampoon Boontawee, translated by Susan Fulop Kepner

Letters from Thailand by Botan, translated by Susan Fulop Kepner

The True History of the Gulf War

From Shield to Storm: High-Tech Weapons, Military Strategy, and Coalition Warfare in the Persian Gulf by James F. Dunnigan and Austin Bay

In the Eye of the Storm: The Life of General H. Norman Schwarzkopf by Roger Cohen and Claudio Gatti

Desert Victory: The War for Kuwait by Norman Friedman

The Outlaw State: Saddam Hussein’s Quest for Power and the Gulf Crisis by Elaine Sciolino

Needless Deaths in the Gulf War: Civilian Casualties During the Air Campaign and Violations of the Laws of War

On the Basra Road by Stephen Sackur

George Bush’s War by Jean Edward Smith

The Hotel Warriors: Covering the Gulf by John J. Fialka


Robert M. Adams (1915-1996) was a founding editor of the Norton Anthology of English Literature. He taught at the University of Wisconsin, Rutgers, Cornell and U.C.L.A. His scholarly interested ranged from Milton to Joyce, and his translations of many classic works of French literature continue to be read to this day.

Abraham Brumberg (1926–2008) was an essayist, editor and translator. His memoir, Journey Through Vanishing Worlds, was published by New Academia in 2007.

David Brion Davis was Sterling Professor of History Emeritus at Yale and Director Emeritus of Yale’s Gilder Lehrman Center for the Study of Slavery, Resistance, and Abolition. He is the author of Inhuman Bondage: The Rise and Fall of Slavery in the New World.

Theodore H. Draper (1912–2006) was an American historian. Educated at City College, he wrote influential studies of the American Communist Party, the Cuban Revolution and the Iran-Contra Affair. Draper was a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the 1990 recipient of the Herbert Feis Award from the American Historical Association.

Misha Glenny is the author of The Balkans: Nationalism, War, and the Great Powers, 1804–1999. (July 2003)

Stuart Hampshire (1914–2004) was an English philosopher. He taught at University College London, Princeton, Stanford and Oxford, where he was named Warden of Wadham College. His books include Thought and Action, Spinoza and Justice Is Conflict.

Francis Haskell (1928-2000) was an English art historian. His works include Patrons and Painters: Art and Society in Baroque Italyand History and its Images: Art and the Interpretation of the Past. Haskell taught at Oxford.

Murray Kempton (1917-1997) was a columnist for Newsday, as well as a regular contributor to The New York Review of Books. His books include Rebellions, Perversities, and Main Events and The Briar Patch, as well as Part of Our Time. He won the Pulitzer Prize in 1985.

V. S. Naipaul was born in Trinidad in 1932 and emigrated to England in 1950, when he won a scholarship to University College, Oxford. He is the author of many novels, including A House for Mr. Biswas, A Bend in the River, and In a Free State, which won the Booker Prize. He has also written several nonfiction works based on his travels, including India: A Million Mutinies Now and Beyond Belief: Islamic Excursions Among the Converted Peoples. He was knighted in 1990 and in 1993 was the first recipient of the David Cohen British Literature Prize.

Garry Wills, a journalist and historian, is the author of numerous books, including Nixon Agonistes (1970), Inventing America (1978), Explaining America: The Federalist (1981), and Lincoln at Gettysburg (1993), which won a Pulitzer Prize that year. His most recent book is What the Qur’an Meant: And Why It Matters (2017). (November 2019)