Ruth Franklin

Anthony Delmundo

Ruth Franklin

Ruth Franklin’s latest book, Shirley Jackson: A Rather Haunted Life, won the 2016 National Book Critics Circle Award in Biography. She is writing a biography of Anne Frank. (June 2023)


‘The Lucky Ones’

‘The Lucky Ones’

Several groundbreaking new books chronicle the fate of the quarter-million or so Polish Jews who evaded Hitler only to wind up in the hands of Stalin.

In the East: How My Father and a Quarter Million Polish Jews Survived the Holocaust

by Mikhal Dekel

Survival on the Margins: Polish Jewish Refugees in the Wartime Soviet Union

by Eliyana R. Adler

Journey into the Land of the Zeks and Back: A Memoir of the Gulag

by Julius Margolin, translated from the Russian by Stefani Hoffman, with a foreword by Timothy Snyder and an introduction by Katherine R. Jolluck

October 21, 2021 issue

L’Engle’s Cosmic Catechism

L’Engle’s Cosmic Catechism

Even more than the many theological memoirs Madeleine L’Engle wrote later in life, ‘A Wrinkle in Time’ and its successors represent her spiritual autobiography

The Kairos Novels: The Wrinkle in Time and Polly O’Keefe Quartets

by Madeleine L’Engle, edited by Leonard S. Marcus

Penguins and Golden Calves: Icons and Idols in Antarctica and Other Unexpected Places

by Madeleine L’Engle, with a foreword by Charlotte Jones Voiklis

The Rock That Is Higher: Story as Truth

by Madeleine L’Engle, with a foreword by Sarah Bessey

March 12, 2020 issue

Ladies of the Moon

Ladies of the Moon

Celestial Bodies

by Jokha Alharthi, translated from the Arabic by Marilyn Booth

December 5, 2019 issue

Everyday Sadism

Everyday Sadism

You Know You Want This: “Cat Person” and Other Stories

by Kristen Roupenian

April 4, 2019 issue

Subscribe and save 50%!

Read the latest issue as soon as it’s available, and browse our rich archives. You'll have immediate subscriber-only access to over 1,200 issues and 25,000 articles published since 1963.

Subscribe now

Subscribe and save 50%!

Get immediate access to the current issue and over 25,000 articles from the archives, plus the NYR App.

Already a subscriber? Sign in