George Eliot

by Gordon Haight

Eating Fables

The Carnal Myth A Search into Classical Sensuality

by Edward Dahlberg

The Leafless American

by Edward Dahlberg, edited with an Introduction by Harold Billings

Edward Dahlberg: American Ishmael of Letters

edited with an Introduction by Harold Billings

Trompe l’oeil

Through the Vanishing Point: Space in Poetry and Painting

by Marshall McLuhan and Harley Parker

War and Peace in the Global Village

by Marshall McLuhan and Quentin Fiore, co-ordinated by Jerome Agel

McLuhan: Pro & Con

edited by Raymond Rosenthal

Sense and Nonsense of McLuhan

by Sidney Finkelstein


Living and Partly Living

by Jiri Mucha

Legends of Our Time

by Elie Wiesel


by Vassilis Vassilikos

The Menace of Liberal Scholarship

No More Vietnams?

edited by Richard M. Pfeffer

On Not Translating Racine

Racine or The Triumph of Relevance

by Odette de Mourgues

The Complete Plays of Jean Racine

translated by Samuel Solomon, with an Introduction by Katherine Wheatley


The Blacking Factory and Pennsylvania Gothic

by Wilfrid Sheed

Expensive People

by Joyce Carol Oates

The Beastly Beatitudes of Balthazar B

by J.P. Donleavy

Eva Trout

by Elizabeth Bowen

Subscribe and save 50%!

Read the latest issue as soon as it’s available and browse the rich archive. You will have immediate subscriber-only access to over 1,200 issues and over 20,000 articles published since 1963! And with our holiday offer you will also receive a free David Levine 2022 Calendar.

Subscribe now

Give the gift they'll open all year

Save 55% off the regular rate and over 75% off the cover price and receive a free 2022 calendar!