Stravinsky’s Russian Letters

I. F. Stravinsky: Essays and Materials compiled by L.S. D'yachkova, edited by B.M. Yarustovsky

F. Stravinsky: Essays, Letters, Memoirs compiled and annotated by L. Kutateladze, edited by A. Gozenpud

Death for Dinner

Nutrition Scoreboard: Your Guide to Better Eating by Dr. Michael Jacobson

Hearings Before the Select Committee on Nutrition and Human Needs: Part 2, “Sugar in Diet, Diabetes, and Heart Diseases”

Hearings Before the Select Committee on Nutrition and Human Needs: Part 3, “TV Advertising of Food to Children”

Hearings Before the Select Committee on Nutrition and Human Needs: Part 4, “TV Advertising of Food to Children”

Diet for a Small Planet by Frances Moore Lappé

Recipes for a Small Planet by Ellen Buchman Ewald

Baby Talk

A First Language: The Early Stages by Roger Brown

Psycholinguistics by Dan I. Slobin

Language Acquisition and Communicative Choice by Susan M. Ervin-Tripp


Neal Ascherson is the author of Black Sea, Stone Voices: The Search for Scotland and the novel Death of the Fronsac. He is an Honorary Professor at the Institute of Archaeology, University College London.
 (December 2019)

C. B. A. Behrens (1904–1989) was a British historian of Europe. She was the author of The Ancien Régimeand Society, Government and The Enlightenment.

Robert Craft is a conductor and writer. Craft’s close working friendship with Igor Stravinsky is the subject of his memoir, An Improbable Life. In 2002 he was awarded the International Prix du Disque at the Cannes Music Festival.

Martin Gardner (1914–2010) was a science writer and novelist. He was the author of The New Ambidextrous Universe, Fractal Music, Hypercards and More, The Night is Large and Visitors from Oz.

Conor Cruise O’Brien (1917–2009) was an Irish historian and politician. He was elected to the Irish parliament in 1969 and served as a Minister from 1973 until 1977. His works include States of Ireland, The Great Melody and Memoir: My Life and Themes.

Garry Wills, a journalist and historian, is the author of numerous books, including Nixon Agonistes (1970), Inventing America (1978), Explaining America: The Federalist (1981), and Lincoln at Gettysburg (1993), which won a Pulitzer Prize that year. His most recent book is What the Qur’an Meant: And Why It Matters (2017). (November 2019)

C. Vann Woodward (1908–1999) was a historian of the American South. He taught at Johns Hopkins and at Yale, where he was named the Sterling Professor of History. His books include Mary Chesnut’s Civil War and The Old World’s New World.