The New Wave in Psychiatry

Techniques of Family Therapy by Jay Haley and Lynn Hoffman

Change: Principles of Problem Formation and Problem Resolution by Paul Watzlawick and John Weakland and Richard Fisch

Families and Family Therapy by Salvador Minuchin

I Think It’s Me
Difference Display as a Contextual Event, A Family With a Little Fire, The Open Door: A Structural Approach to a Family with an Anorectic Child
Films available from the Philadelphia Child Guidance Clinic


Sherlock Holmes Collected Edition by Arthur Conan Doyle

A Study in Scarlet by Arthur Conan Doyle, with an introduction by Hugh Greene

The Sign of Four by Arthur Conan Doyle, with an introduction by Graham Greene

The Hound of the Baskervilles by Arthur Conan Doyle, with an introduction by John Fowles

The Valley of Fear by Arthur Conan Doyle, with an introduction by Len Deighton

The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle, with an introduction by Eric Ambler

The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle, with an introduction by Kingsley Amis

The Return of Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle, with an introduction by Angus Wilson

His Last Bow by Arthur Conan Doyle, with an introduction by Julian Symons

The Case-Book of Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle, with an introduction by C. P. Snow

Sherlock Holmes Detected by Ian McQueen

The London of Sherlock Holmes by Michael Harrison

In the Footsteps of Sherlock Holmes by Michael Harrison

The Return of Moriarty by John Gardner

The Seven-Per-Cent Solution: Being a Reprint from the Reminiscences of John H. Watson, MD as edited by Nicholas Meyer

Naked Is the Best Disguise by Samuel Rosenberg

The Sherlock Holmes Scrapbook edited by Peter Haining

Artifices of Eternity

The Spirit of Eastern Christendom (600-1700): Vol. 2, The Christian Tradition: A History of the Development of Doctrine by Jaroslav Pelikan

Venezia e Bizanzio by Sergio Bettini and others

Icons and their History by David Talbot Rice and Tamara Talbot Rice

Armenian Manuscripts in the Walters Art Gallery by Sirarpie Der Nersessian

The Celtic Churches: A History, AD 200 to 1200 by John T. McNeill

Irish Medieval Figure Sculpture, 1200-1600 by John Hunt

The Book of Kells with a study of the manuscript by Françoise Henry

Academic Vaudeville

The King’s Indian: Stories and Tales by John Gardner, illustrated by Herbert L. Fink

The Shadow Knows by Diane Johnson

The Odd Woman by Gail Godwin

The Clockwork Testament or Enderby’s End by Anthony Burgess


Peter Brown is the Philip and Beulah Rollins Professor of History Emeritus at Princeton. His books include Augustine of Hippo: A Biography and, most recently, Treasure in Heaven: The Holy Poor in Early 
Christianity. (September 2020)

Robert Coles is a psychiatrist and writer. Until recently, he was the Agee Professor of Social Ethics at Harvard. His many books include The Moral Intelligence of Children and Bruce Springsteen’s America: The People Listening, a Poet Singing. Coles received a Pulitzer Prize in 1973 for Children of Crisis, a MacArthur Award in 1981, the Presidential Medal of Freedom in 1998, and the National Humanities Medal in 2001.

Thomas R. Edwards (1928–2005) was Professor of English at Rutgers and editor of Raritan. His last book was Over Here: Criticizing America.

Irvin Ehrenpreis (1920–1985) was the Linden Kent Memorial Professor of English Literature at the University of Virginia. In 1984 he received the Christian Gauss Award from Phi Beta Kappa for the final volume of his trilogy, Swift: The Man, His Works, and the Age.

J. H. Elliott is Regius Professor Emeritus of Modern ­History at Oxford. His books include Empires of the Atlantic World: ­Britain and Spain in America, 1492–1830 and, most ­recently, Scots and Catalans: Union and Disunion.
 (November 2019)

Clive James is the author of many books of criticism, autobiography, fiction, and poetry. Among his books are Cultural Amnesia: Necessary Memories from History and the Arts, The Blaze of Obscurity, and A Point of View.

Mary McCarthy (1912-1989) was a novelist, essayist, and critic. Her political and social commentary, literary essays, and drama criticism appeared in magazines such as Partisan Review, The New Yorker, Harper’s, and The New York Review of Books, and were collected in On the Contrary (1961), Mary McCarthy’s Theatre Chronicles 1937-1962 (1963), The Writing on the Wall (1970), Ideas and the Novel (1980), and Occasional Prose (1985). Her novels include The Company She Keeps (1942), The Oasis (1949), The Groves of Academe (1952), A Charmed Life (1955), The Group (1963), Birds of America (1971), and Cannibals and Missionaries (1979). She was the author of three works of autobiography, Memories of a Catholic Girlhood (1957), How I Grew (1987), and the unfinished Intellectual Memoirs (1992), and two travel books about Italy, Venice Observed (1956) and The Stones of Florence (1959). Her essays on the Vietnam War were collected in The Seventeenth Degree (1974); her essays on Watergate were collected in The Mask of State (1974).

I.F. Stone (1907–1989) was an American journalist and publisher whose self-published newsletter, I.F. Stone’s Weekly, challenged the conservatism of American journalism in the midcentury. A Noncomformist History of Our Times (1989) is a six-volume anthology of Stone’s writings.