Mr. Eliot’s Martyrdom

Eliot's Early Years

by Lyndall Gordon

T.S. Eliot's Personal Waste Land: Exorcism of the Demons

by James E. Miller Jr.

T.S. Eliot: The Longer Poems

by Derek Traversi

Rich Kids

Privileged Ones

Volume V of "Children of Crisis" Robert Coles

A Four Handkerchief Tragedy

Euripides: Iphigeneia at Aulis

translated by W.S. Merwin, translated by George E. Dimock Jr.


a film directed by Michael Cacoyannis

What Trotsky Thought

The Life and Death of Trotsky

by Robert Payne

The Social and Political Thought of Leon Trotsky

by Baruch Knei-Paz

Reading Opera

Romantic Opera and Literary Form

by Peter Conrad

Literature as Opera

by Gary Schmidgall

Mozart and Beethoven: The Concept of Love in Their Operas

by Irving Singer

Getting Down to Business

The Visible Hand: The Managerial Revolution in American Business

by Alfred D. Chandler Jr.

America by Design: Science, Technology, and the Rise of Corporate Capitalism

by David F. Noble

Captains of Consciousness: Advertising and the Social Roots of the Consumer Culture

by Stuart Ewen

Troubling Comedian


by Yoram Kaniuk, translated by Richard Flantz

Adam Resurrected

by Yoram Kaniuk, translated by Seymour Simckes

Benevolent Adam Smith

The Glasgow Edition of the Works and Correspondence of Adam Smith, I. The Theory of Moral Sentiments

by Adam Smith, edited by D.D. Raphael and A.L. Macfie.

The Glasgow Edition of the Works and Correspondence of Adam Smith, II. An Inquiry into the Nature and Causes of the Wealth of Nations

by Adam Smith, edited by R.H. Campbell, edited by A.S. Skinner, textual editor W.B. Todd

Essays on Adam Smith

edited by A.S. Skinner, edited by Thomas Wilson

The Market and the State: Essays in Honour of Adam Smith

edited by Thomas Wilson, edited by Andrew S. Skinner

Short Reviews

The Lowell Offering: Writings by New England Mill Women, 1840-1845

edited by Benita Eisler

Twilight of the Old Order

by Claude Manceron

Subscribe and save 50%!

Read the latest issue as soon as it’s available, and browse our rich archives. You'll have immediate subscriber-only access to over 1,200 issues and 25,000 articles published since 1963.

Subscribe now
New York Review + Paris Review covers

Save $168 on an inspired pairing!

Get both The New York Review and The Paris Review at one low price.

Already a subscriber? Sign in