Playing to Win

The Archaeology of the Olympics: The Olympics and Other Festivals in Antiquity

edited by Wendy J. Raschke

Greek Athletics and the Genesis of Sport

by David Sansone

A Polish Hero

The King of Children: A Biography of Janusz Korczak

by Betty Jean Lifton

King Matt the First

by Janusz Korczak, translated by Richard Lourie, introduction by Bruno Bettelheim

New York Pastoral

Selected Poems

by James Schuyler

The Strange Case of William Bullitt

So Close to Greatness: A Biography of William C. Bullitt

by Will Brownell and Richard N. Billings

Outrageous Things

The Passion

by Jeanette Winterson

The Battle Over Post-Modern Buildings

Committed to Classicism: The Building of Downing College Cambridge

by Cinzia Maria Sicca, with contributions by Charles Harpum and Edward Powell, photography, design, and production by Tim Rawle

Quinlan Terry: The Revival of Architecture

by Clive Aslet

Classical Architecture: The Poetics of Order

by Alexander Tzonis and Liane Lefaivre

The Dilemma of Style: Architectural Ideas from the Picturesque to the Post-Modern

by J. Mordaunt Crook

Post-Modernism: The New Classicism in Art and Architecture

by Charles Jencks

Death and the Dichter

Posthumous Papers of a Living Author

by Robert Musil, translated by Peter Wortsman

Five Women

by Robert Musil, translated by Eithne Wilkins and Ernst Kaiser

Robert Musil

by Lowell A. Bangerter

Odd Man In

A Life

by Elia Kazan

The Time Is Ripe: The 1940 Journal of Clifford Odets

with an introduction by William Gibson

Call of the Wild

My Weeds: A Gardener's Botany

by Sara B. Stein, illustrations by Ippy Patterson

Gentlemen vs. Players

The Pride and the Fall: The Dream and Illusion of Britain as a Great Nation

by Correlli Barnett


The Oxford Companion to the Mind

edited by Richard L. Gregory, with the assistance of O.L. Zangwill

A Master’s Legacy

Mr. Palomar

by Italo Calvino, translated by William Weaver

Six Memos for the Next Millennium

by Italo Calvino, translated by Patrick Creagh

Subscribe and save 50%!

Read the latest issue as soon as it’s available, and browse our rich archives. You'll have immediate subscriber-only access to over 1,200 issues and 25,000 articles published since 1963.

Subscribe now
New York Review + Paris Review covers

Save $168 on an inspired pairing!

Get both The New York Review and The Paris Review at one low price.

Already a subscriber? Sign in