We Are Hopelessly Hooked

Reclaiming Conversation: The Power of Talk in a Digital Age by Sherry Turkle

Alone Together: Why We Expect More from Technology and Less from Each Other by Sherry Turkle

Reading the Comments: Likers, Haters, and Manipulators at the Bottom of the Web by Joseph M. Reagle Jr.

Hooked: How to Build Habit-Forming Products by Nir Eyal with Ryan Hoover

What Is the I Ching?

I Ching: The Book of Change translated from the Chinese by David Hinton

I Ching (Yijing): The Book of Change translated from the Chinese with an introduction and commentary by John Minford

Bizet Wins at the Met

Les Pêcheurs de Perles [The Pearl Fishers] an opera by Georges Bizet, produced by Penny Woolcock, at the Metropolitan Opera, New York City, December 31, 2015–February 4, 2016

A Country Breaking Down

2013 Report Card for America’s Infrastructure by the American Society of Civil Engineers

Rust: The Longest War by Jonathan Waldman

Move: Putting America’s Infrastructure Back in the Lead by Rosabeth Moss Kanter

The Road Taken: The History and Future of America’s Infrastructure by Henry Petroski

Lights Out: A Cyberattack, A Nation Unprepared, Surviving the Aftermath by Ted Koppel

Walpole: The House & the Letters

Strawberry Hill and Horace Walpole: Essential Guide by John Iddon

Strawberry Hill: Horace Walpole’s Gothic Castle by Anna Chalcraft and Judith Viscardi

The Yale Edition of Horace Walpole’s Correspondence edited by W.S. Lewis and others

Place-making for the Imagination: Horace Walpole and Strawberry Hill by Marion Harney

Horace Walpole’s Strawberry Hill edited by Michael Snodin

Horace Walpole’s Description of the Villa at Strawberry-Hill: A Facsimile of the Copy Extra-illustrated for Charles Bedford in the Collection of Lord Waldegrave of North Hill with an introduction by William Waldegrave

Houghton Revisited: The Walpole Masterpieces from Catherine the Great’s Hermitage by Larissa Dukelskaya and others

A Description of the Villa at Strawberry-Hill by Horace Walpole, with an introduction by Stephen Clarke

A Different Kind of Weather: A Memoir by William Waldegrave

The Psychologists Take Power

The Righteous Mind: Why Good People Are Divided by Politics and Religion by Jonathan Haidt

The Better Angels of Our Nature: Why Violence Has Declined by Steven Pinker

Just Babies: The Origins of Good and Evil by Paul Bloom

The Power of Ideals: The Real Story of Moral Choice by William Damon and Anne Colby

Moral Tribes: Emotion, Reason, and the Gap Between Us and Them by Joshua Greene

Report to the Special Committee of the Board of Directors of the American Psychological Association: Independent Review Relating to APA Ethics Guidelines, National Security Interrogations, and Torture by David H. Hoffman and others

The Senate Intelligence Committee Report on Torture: Committee Study of the Central Intelligence Agency’s Detention and Interrogation Program by the Senate Select Committee on Intelligence

Estimating the Reproducibility of Psychological Science by Brian Nosek and others

Head Strong: How Psychology Is Revolutionizing War by Michael D. Matthews


Neal Ascherson is the author of Black Sea, Stone Voices: The Search for Scotland and the novel Death of the Fronsac. He is an Honorary Professor at the Institute of Archaeology, University College London.
 (December 2019)

John Ashbery’s new book of poems, Commotion of the Birds, will be published in November. (August 2016)

Anne Carson was born in Canada and teaches ancient Greek for a living. Her latest publication is Norma Jeane Baker of Troy.
 (May 2020)

Christian Caryl is an editor at the Opinions section of The Washington Post and the author of Strange Rebels: 1979 and the Birth of the Twenty-First Century. (March 2020)

Arlene Croceis the former dance critic for The New Yorker and the author of The Fred Astaire & Ginger Rogers Book.

 (February 2016)

Elizabeth Drew is the author of fourteen books, including Washington Journal: Reporting Watergate and Richard Nixon’s Downfall, which was expanded and reissued in 2014.

Joseph Lelyveld’s most recent book is His Final Battle: The Last Months of Franklin Roosevelt. (November 2017)

Lorrie Moore is the Gertrude Conaway Vanderbilt Professor of English at Vanderbilt and the author of four story collections and three novels. Her most recent book is a collection of essays, See What Can Be Done. (August 2018)

Geoffrey O’Brien’s books include The Phantom Empire and Sonata for Jukebox. His Where Did Poetry Come From? will be ­published in the spring.
(February 2020)

Robert O. Paxton is Mellon Professor Emeritus of Social Science at Columbia and the author of The Anatomy of Fascism, Vichy France, and, with Julie Hessler, Europe in the Twentieth Century, among other works.
 (December 2018)

Thomas Piketty is Professor of Economics at the Paris School of Economics. He is the author of Capital in the Twenty-first Century. An earlier version of his article appeared in Le Monde (February 2016)

Tamsin Shaw is Associate Professor of European and Mediterranean Studies and Philosophy at NYU and the author of Nietzsche’s Political Skepticism. (April 2018)

Steven Weinberg teaches at the University of Texas, Austin. He has been awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics and the National Medal of Science. His latest book is To Explain the World: The Discovery of Modern Science. His essay in this issue is based on the fourth annual Patrusky Lecture of the Council for the Advancement of Science Writing, delivered in San Antonio in October 2016. (January 2017)

Eliot Weinberger is the editor of the Calligrams series published by the Chinese University of Hong Kong Press and New York Review Books and the literary editor of the Murty Classical Library of India. Among his books of essays are An Elemental Thing and the forthcoming The Ghosts of Birds.
 (February 2016)

Jacob Weisberg is the former Editor of Slate. His most ­recent book is Ronald Reagan. (October 2018)

Geoffrey Wheatcroft’s books include The Controversy of Zion, The Strange Death of Tory England, and Yo, Blair! His new book, Churchill’s Bust, will be published next year.
 (May 2020)