The Fire This Time

Waiting: The Whites of South Africa

by Vincent Crapanzano

Freedom Rising

by James North

The True Confessions of an Albino Terrorist

by Breyten Breytenbach

Noble Poet

Report from the Besieged City and Other Poems

by Zbigniew Herbert, translated by John Carpenter and Bogdana Carpenter

Barbarian in the Garden

by Zbigniew Herbert, translated by Michael March and Jaroslaw Anders

Selected Poems

by Zbigniew Herbert, translated by Czeslaw Milosz and Peter Dale Scott

Strategy or Romance?

Counsels of War

by Gregg Herken

O So Uchi!

Pictures from the Water Trade: Adventures of a Westerner in Japan

by John David Morley

The Story Isn’t Over

The Cider House Rules

by John Irving

The House of the Spirits

by Isabel Allende, translated by Magda Bogin

The Magic Kingdom

by Stanley Elkin

A Musicological Offering

Contemplating Music: Challenges to Musicology

by Joseph Kerman

The Good Witch of the West


by Sylvia Townsend Warner, edited by William Maxwell

One Thing Leading to Another, and Other Stories

by Sylvia Townsend Warner, selected and edited by Susanna Pinney

Scenes of Childhood

by Sylvia Townsend Warner

Lolly Willowes, or the Loving Huntsman

by Sylvia Townsend Warner, introduction by Anita Miller

The True Heart

by Sylvia Townsend Warner

For Sylvia: An Honest Account

by Valentine Ackland

See all reviewed works
See less

Happy Endings

The Birth of Purgatory

by Jacques Le Goff, translated by Arthur Goldhammer

Ah, the Fredonna Tree

A Certain Lucas

by Julio Cortázar, translated by Gregory Rabassa

Heroes Are Grazing in My Garden

by Heberto Padilla, translated by Andrew Hurley

A House in the Country

by José Donoso, translated by David Pritchard and Suzanne Jill Levine

Snails on the Couch

Brain and Psyche: The Biology of the Unconscious

by Jonathan Winson

Mind, Brain, Body: Toward a Convergence of Psychoanalysis and Neurobiology

by Morton F. Reiser

Having It All

Love Always

by Ann Beattie

Subscribe and save 50%!

Read the latest issue as soon as it’s available, and browse our rich archives. You'll have immediate subscriber-only access to over 1,200 issues and 25,000 articles published since 1963.

Subscribe now

Subscribe and save 50%!

Get immediate access to the current issue and over 25,000 articles from the archives, plus the NYR App.

Already a subscriber? Sign in