Dissent on Douglas

Independent Journey: The Life of William O.Douglas by James F. Simon

The Court Years, 1939 to 1975: The Autobiography of William O. Douglas by William O. Douglas

Do Israel’s Arabs Have a Future?

The Palestinians in Israel: A Study in Internal Colonialism by Elia T. Zureik

Arab Education in Israel by Sami Khalil Mar'i

Arabs in the Jewish State: Israel’s Control of a National Minority by Ian Lustick

Beyond the Gunsights: One Arab Family in the Promised Land by Yoella Har-Shefi

Embers of Guilt

The Sea and Poison (Umi to Dokuyaku, 1958) translated by Michael Galagher

Wonderful Fool (Obaka San, 1959) translated by Francis Mathy

Volcano (Kazan, 1959) translated by Richard A. Schuchert

Silence (Chinmoku, 1966) translated by William Johnston

The Golden Country (Ogon no Kuni, 1966) translated by Francis Mathy

A Life of Jesus (Iesu no Shogai, 1973) translated by Richard Schuchert

When I Whistle (Kuchibue o fuku toki, 1974) translated by Van C. Gessel

Back to Evolution

The Panda’s Thumb: More Reflections in Natural History by Stephen Jay Gould

The Evolutionary Synthesis: Perspectives on the Unification of Biology edited by Ernst Mayr, edited by William Provine

The Spanish Style

The Centralist Tradition of Latin America by Claudio Véliz

Public Policy in a No-Party State: Spanish Planning and Budgeting in the Twilight of the Franquist Era by Richard Gunther


John Ashbery is the author of several books of poetry, including Self-Portrait in a Convex Mirror (1975), which received the Pulitzer Prize for Poetry, the National Book Critics Circle Award, and the National Book Award. His first collection, Some Trees (1956), was selected by W. H. Auden for the Yale Younger Poets Series. He has also published art criticism, plays, and a novel. From 1990 until 2008 Ashbery was the Charles P. Stevenson, Jr. Professor of Languages and Literature at Bard College. Ashbery’s new collection of poems, Breezeway, will be ­published in May 2015.

Bernard Avishai, Adjunct Professor of Business, Hebrew University of Jerusalem, splits his time between Jerusalem and Wilmot, New Hampshire.

Raymond Carr was Warden of St. Antony’s College, Oxford, and has written extensively on modern Spanish history.

István Deák is Seth Low Professor Emeritus at Columbia. He is the author, with Jan Gross and Tony Judt, of The Politics of Retribution in Europe: World War II and Its Aftermath.

Denis Donoghue is University Professor at New York University, where he holds the Henry James Chair of English and American Letters. His works include The Practice of Reading, Words Alone: The Poet T.S. Eliot, and The American Classics.

Ronald Dworkin (1931–2013) was Professor of Philosophy and Frank Henry Sommer Professor of Law at NYU. His books include Is Democracy Possible Here?, Justice in Robes, Freedom’s Law, and Justice for Hedgehogs. He was the 2007 winner of the Ludvig Holberg International Memorial Prize for “his pioneering scholarly work” of “worldwide impact” and he was recently awarded the Balzan Prize for his “fundamental contributions to Jurisprudence.”

David Joravsky is Professor Emeritus of History at Northwestern. His books include The Lysenko Affairand Russian Psychology: A Critical History.

Alfred Kazin (1915–1998) was a writer and teacher. Among his books are On Native Grounds, a study of American literature from Howells to Faulkner, and the memoirs A Walker in the Cityand New York Jew. In 1996, he received the first Lifetime Award in Literary Criticism from the Truman Capote Literary Trust.

Murray Kempton (1917-1997) was a columnist for Newsday, as well as a regular contributor to The New York Review of Books. His books include Rebellions, Perversities, and Main Events and The Briar Patch, as well as Part of Our Time. He won the Pulitzer Prize in 1985.

P.D. Medawar (1915–1987) was a British biologist whose research was fundamental to the development of tissue and organ transplants. Along with Frank Macfarlane Burnet, he was awarded the 1960 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine.

Helen Vendler is the Arthur Kingsley Porter 
University Professor in the Department of English at Harvard. The Ocean, the Bird, and the Scholar, a collection of her later essays, has just been published.
 (June 2015)

Garry Wills holds the Alonzo L. McDonald Family Chair on the Life and Teachings of Jesus and Their Impact on Culture at Emory. He is the author of The Future of the Catholic Church with Pope Francis.

Frances A. Yates (1899–1981) was an English historian. She taught for many years at The Warburg Institute, where she studied the history of esotericism in the West.